February 2022

3 March 2022

February tends to be a quiet month for us. It’s usually still hot and humid and this year was no different. We spent time with family and regular appointments like massage and chiro for me. One of the great joys of retirement is being able to make appointments or visit my parents on weekdays, which leave the weekends free for friends and family who are working.

The important appointment came towards the end of the month as I had to find a new doctor. Mine has retired and had been my doctor since I was 18. It’s not an easy task and while I could have stayed with the same clinic it is further away than I would like as I age. So many local doctors have closed books but I did my research and after a longer first visit, blood tests and a telehealth appointment all in the same week, I am happy with my choice.

It was also the month that items we were waiting for arrived. First the new dining chairs which were easy to put together. The next day the new tyres were ready at Costco and G took the car for them to be fitted. The day after I sorted my glasses at OPSM and have an alternate pair for free as they had to send my frames away for fitting. Once they are back I will have the new lenses fitted to my sunglasses.

That same afternoon our dining room table was ready to be collected and we now have our new setting in place. The larger table with expansion leaf is now in our meals/family room area where we host larger groups. It’s a total colour change to blue.

Family history was busy and I attended a couple of webinars from America at crazy times, held our Brisbane group meeting here at home and joined a new group. More in my dedicated family history post.

My sister visited and we went to Vend, an indoor marketplace at Virginia with lots of individual stalls but only one cash point. It was full of plants and pots, crafts, candles and all quite individual. Great for gift shopping. There is also a cafe for brunch, coffee and cake or lunch.

Our other outing was a lunch with my walking group at Kedron Wavell Services Club where there was lots of talk and laughs as well as great food. We were lucky to have the lunch as the next day the rain started and basically didn’t stop for three days here in Brisbane. We are very lucky compared to those who again have their homes and businesses flooded and it will take some time before full infrastructure is returned to normal.

ReadingOne Italian Summer – Pip WilliamsFinding Ashley – Danielle SteelThe Art of Keeping Secrets – Rachael Johns Flying Angels – Danielle Steel  
Craft and CharityDonation to Ovarian Cancer Australia  
Walking63km  

Author: sandyg61

Married since the early 1980's we have one child who is now an adult and our lovely granddaughter arrived in the latter part of 2020. My husband and I have now both retired and are planning out our next chapter. We have travelled in Australia a fair bit over the years and I have shared some Asian trips with my son. A family trip to Europe for Chirstmas in 2013 kicked off the overseas bucket list. Hopefully there is plenty more to add.

Leave a comment

The Family We Share

A web page for my family connections - Moynihan, Ryan, Collinge, Harriss - and their links

thetastefultourist

Travelling in style and having fun.

deborahwilliams1950

Been there Done that.

Somewhere, Anywhere

Holiday Adventures

stitchnsewcreates

Sewing, Crocheting, Knitting, Simple Living, Minimalism

teamrosstravels

Backpacking through Europe Winter 2013/14

organised castle

A simple, sustainable life